Originally posted on gerontologyuk:

August is a funny month in UK universities.  I wandered into the corridor yesterday to find two young South Korean students waiting patiently in our waiting area, despite being surrounded by closed doors.  When I asked whether I could help them, they explained in faltering but perfectly intelligible English that they were undergraduate students from South Korea who had been sponsored by their provincial government to come to England to interview academics about issues relating to ageing policy.  They were walking down the Strand when they realised that they were walking past a University (well done King’s, I guess), and so they came inside and were excited to note that we had an Institute of Gerontology.  They ventured up to the Department and sat and waited until someone came out.  I took a breath, reminded myself inwardly that the primary purpose of unversities is education, mentally rearranged my afternoon and…

View original 434 more words